Oak City Meatball Shoppe, Raleigh

meatball 5

It’s a busy time of year for me. The semester is wrapping up, finals are drawing near, and time is only allowing takeout right now.

I asked my coworkers Saturday night where I should go to quickly grab dinner. The best suggestion? Oak City Meatball Shoppe. The all-things-meatball shoppe opened on Davie Street in downtown Raleigh this year, and it’s a place I’ve been wanting to try since it opened.

meatball 6

The purpose of my restaurant blog is to make me try new things, and to encourage others to do the same. I was in the habit of getting the same dishes every time I ate out, and usually ate out at the same few restaurants each time. Not to say it’s bad to have a regular dish at your favorite restaurant, but the Triangle has a lot to offer.

Oak City Meatball Shoppe has a lot of meatballs to offer. The concept is pretty self explanatory – pick your balls, pick your sauce, and pick your side. The process is much more complicated, because the options are innumerable.

There are 5 meatballs from which to choose:  beef, chicken, spicy pork, veggie, or “ball of the day”. You then choose from a choice of 6 sauces:  tomato, parm cream, pesto, meat sauce, mushroom gravy and the sauce of the day. 

There are several ways to order the meatballs. Many choose the option that includes 4 balls in a bowl, and a side dish. The side dish menu includes mac & cheese, smashed potatoes, salads, and more. See them all here (but just go with the mac & cheese because it’s awesome). You can get the side served “family-style,” or served, to quote the menu, “under your balls.” [I'm not mature enough for this menu]

Other options include hoagies, balls on a bun, or sliders.

One of my coworkers told me to go with the sliders, because it’s the only option that allows you to mix-and-match meatballs. You get three sliders, which means you get three meatballs served with your choice of sauce and cheese on a bun.

meatball 1

I got the spicy pork meatball, with parm cream sauce, and mozzerella cheese. The second ball I chose was the veggie ball with pesto sauce, and mozzerella. For my third choice I went with the “ball of the day,” which was a buffalo chicken ball. It was served with blue cheese sauce, and had a spicy kick to it. The buffalo ball was my favorite, but all of them were good.

Spicy Pork

Spicy Pork Ball with tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese

Buffalo Chicken Ball with blue cheese sauce

Buffalo Chicken Ball with blue cheese sauce

Veggie Ball with pesto and mozzarella cheese

Veggie Ball with pesto and mozzarella cheese

The sliders are 3 for $8, and sides are extra. I added the mac & cheese, and my meal was about 13 bucks. The mac and cheese really is SO good. Make sure you get it when you go – it’s worth the extra cost!

I would like to dine-in next time I go to Oak City Meatball. The atmosphere has the typical Raleigh vibe – low lighting, calm warmth, and a bar as its central feature. It seems like a great place to sit down for dinner with friends and family.

meatball 7

 

Oak City Meatball Shoppe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

